NEW Deadlift PR

by kencrossfit

NEW PR!!!

Deadlift: 280lbs!!! (2 45’s, 1 25, and 2+1/2 pounds on each side of the barbell)
BAREFOOT, with LOTS OF CHALK ON MY HANDS, SWITCH GRIP,
I sat down for a few minutes to rest, then MENTALLY TOLD MYSELF THAT IT WAS LIGHT and that I could DO IT….it was mostly mental. I told myself I could do it, and then I did it.
My previous PR was a measly 225 lbs at 24 hour fitness…

I think I can lift heavier now at DCF since they have rubber weights…

Tips for next time:
Be barefoot
CHALK UP YOUR HANDS
use a switch grip
Butt down and LOW
Head way up high
look at the ceiling
then tell yourself that its a LIGHT WEIGHT…and that it will be EASY to lift up…

Then hold your breath and PULL IT UP!!!
Thats how I got my new PR of 280lbs…

Backsquat: 135 lbs
Frontsquat: 95 lbs

Today’s WOD was AMRAP Snatches in 5 minutes: I did 25, and the last 5 really made me gassed and gave me that rush of endorphins I wanted.

New Stretching/ mobility technique: Blue rubber band, tie it to a pull up bar, grab the loose end and pull back with your arm straight, bicep next to your ear, and legs straight….step BACK so you can feel the stretch in your shoulder and your ribs/ abs

New Stretching/ mobility technique: get a kettlebell 35-55 lbs, get a foam roller, put the kettle bell on the ground and use it as an “anchor” that you hold on to with both hands.

Then you put the foam roller right under your lumbar spine. Then try to put your hips on the GROUND while holding on to the kettle bell and with the foam roller under your lumbar spine. this should stretch out your shoulders and upper lats. (good warm up for snatches)

